After great reluctance to post this article for several months, I have decided to only because I wanted to show examples to religious people of how:

– I really do know what it’s like to be brainwashed.

– I know what it’s like to be wrong and not know right from wrong.

Well where do I begin with this article? Where do I begin and not come off sounding like not only a stupid person, but a pretty bad one also?

Well let’s just say that I’ve learned a few things in my many years, so let’s go over what they are.

A: I know what it’s like to be brainwashed.

B: I know what it’s like to hate people for the wrong reasons, but think I had the right reasons.

C: I know what it’s like to be blinded by ignorance.

D: I know what it’s like to worship something and make excuses for something when the thing you worship is at fault.

E: I know what it’s like to bully people and enjoy being the bully.

F: I know what it’s like to live a lie.

G: I know what it’s like to suddenly realize that I wasn’t the great person and completely decent human being I thought I was.

H: I know what it’s like to have a savior.

I: I know what it’s like to have a purpose in life.

J: I know what it’s like to NOT have a purpose in life, but yet be completely fine with that and happy.

K: I know what it’s like to realize you wasted your life for nothing.

L: I know what it’s like to find out that there really is no way of being sure what you know, unless you sit down and dissect every single thing that you actually know.
.
.
Ok so let’s go through these:

A: I know what it’s like to be brainwashed.

1) I was an extremely brainwashed kid indoctrinated to religion since birth until I became a non-believer at 14.

2) I was a neurotically obsessed homophobic til around 1999-2000 who hated gay men with a passion.

a) I had several reasons at the time which I somehow thought were justified.

– I won’t mention what the reasons were, but they were completely off, completely not true & completely ridiculous as I’m thinking back on them.

b) I didn’t have a problem with lesbians so I was also a hypocrite.

c) I grew up with a bunch of hateful homophobic people and all the reasons I had for how I felt were felt by them also & we all fed off each others hate it seemed.

d) I had been socially trained to think of gay men as nothing but sub-human monsters.

e) This had nothing to do with religion, this was a social parasitic influence of how things were in the 70’s, 80’s and early 90’s.

f) It also was a small town mentality I think.

2) So what made that change?

a) Listening to Howard Stern on the radio defend gay men & all gay people in general.

– Howard showed me how the reasons I had for hating gay men and thinking they were all monsters were all completely absurd.

– Howard had REAL gay men on the radio often and showed them to be just like everyday people.

– He showed that gay men and gay people were really just innocent victims of people like me.

b) I had moved from the small town I was in and into the city and had to work with gay men co-workers who were great people.

c) I made friends with gay men who were great people.

d) I realized that everything I had been so obsessed with was a meaningless waste of time.

e) I realized that gay men weren’t what was wrong with this world, but that what was really wrong with this world was hateful bigots like me.

f) I realized I was wrong and brainwashed and was glad to be free and see the reality of things:

– Gay people cannot help how they are born.

– There are good gay people and bad gay people.

– There are good straight people and bad straight people.

– I really had no reason to have an opinion about, or the right to judge anyone on how they were born if they liked screwing men, or women.

g) I also thought about how if I were gay I probably would never have the guts to even come out and would live in fear because of people like me.
.
.
B: I know what it’s like to hate people for the wrong reasons, but think I had the right reasons.

1) Again I don’t feel it a good idea to list the reasons I had for hating gay men, but I will say that no gay man had ever done anything to me personally that affected me in any way.

2) I was not saving the world by bullying gay people and encouraging hatred in any way.

3) I can now only look back in horror at the things I said to gay men so many years ago and the hatred and rage I encouraged in straight people towards gay men.

a) I think I feel like I was another person, or something.

– I wasn’t.

– I meant every word.

– It was me.

b) I think I feel like I was under some kind of “possession, instead of just socially conditioned.

– I wasn’t.

– I meant every word.

– I was socially conditioned to hate.

c) I tell myself that I was mislead and socially influenced and that my same behavior was no different than the way the people around me thought and felt.

However I can’t help but feel this way:

– I should have thought things through more.

– I should have thought about how irrational I was being.

– I should have put myself in their shoes.

– I should not have allowed the world to blind me to a lie to think and feel that way.
.
.
C: I know what it’s like to be blinded by ignorance.

1) I was blinded to believe christianity once.

a) A religion which like ALL religions is nothing but lies and based on a scam.

b) I was unaware and hadn’t thought about it, or researched it until one day I sat down and actually did.

2) I was blinded to hate gay men at one time.

a) I blindly hated them for all the wrong reasons before knowing the facts.

b) I listened and took the opinions of people who really weren’t that bright.

c) I grew up thinking that hating gays was normal and being obsessed with hating them was normal.

3) I’ve been blinded by my own ignorance regarding ancient aliens and believing that people don’t lie on TV.

a) I had someone on Twitter who was an archaeology expert and historian correct me and bluntly tell me I was being an idiot.

b) She showed me the evidence though and I listened.

– I then did my own research and confirmed it even more that she was right.

c) I then returned to the science that I studied before.

4) Until 2001 when 911 happened and then again in 2009 when I came on Twitter, I really was blind to how harmful, destructive and evil religion really is.
.
.
D: I know what it’s like to worship something and make excuses for something when the thing you worship is at fault.

1) I worship Howard Stern.

a) I can’t help it.

b) He’s the greatest human being who ever lived.

c) He helped me more than anybody else in the world ever has.

d) Nobody has ever brought me so much joy as listening to his show has.

e) He opened my eyes to a lot of things:

– Taught me how to laugh at myself.

– How to get through life and how to truly see the world and know what was happening in it.

– How to respect myself as a person by not being hateful to gay men.

2) He showed me that the best way to change the world is to speak the truth, pull no punches and say exactly what you think and mean.

3) He showed me how truly humble he is by constantly saying NOT to listen to his advice cause he truly doesn’t know the answers and by constantly calling himself an idiot and a loser.

a) This helped me learn to question EVERYTHING.

b) This helped open my eyes to the fact that blindly following anyone, or anything without correct and critical thinking and evaluation is the worst thing you can do for yourself and society.

4) How has he shown not to blindly follow anyone and how simply super imposing someone else’s opinion on to yourself is one of the worst things you can do?

a) He had me thinking Rosie O’Donnel was one of the worst human beings on the planet and honestly kind of a monster.

– She really is a wonderful, amazing person, with a huge heart.

– He eventually realized this too after about 10 years.

– They’re some of each others best friends now and became very close.

b) He demonized bronies on his show and had me thinking badly of them.

– I ended up following bronies on Twitter who are some of my favorite “tweeps”.

– He was wrong to make fun of the bronies.

– Because of critical thinking I was able to distiguish from good what was good thinking and what was not.

c) Howard repeatedly says things like “I’m just someone on the radio who makes people laugh and try to make their life interesting and enjoyable while listening to radio as they drive their cars. I really insist DO NOT use me as a role model.”

5) Howard showed me not to be afraid to apologize if you’re wrong and to see that you were wrong.

a) I learned that one of the best things you can do to move forward is an apology.

b) This is probably the greatest thing that religious people could learn from.

– Openly apologizing for not being more critical of their religion and themselves.
.
.
E: I know what it’s like to bully people and enjoy being the bully.

1) Trust me I know.

2) The things I said to gay men and about gay men will haunt me forever.

3) I felt at the time they deserved it.

4) They didn’t deserve it.
.
.
F: I know what it’s like to live a lie.

1) I was a hardcore fundie christian.

2) There isn’t a thing about christianity, or any of the thousands of gods, religions, cults, or sects that is true.

a) It just takes some research and a reality check.

b) There really is no nice way to say to someone that someone has lived a lie, but it is the truth.

c) If I was able to do it at 14, then there is no reason anybody shouldn’t be able to do it at any age.

– It’s not that they can’t, but they WON’T.

3) I know what is like thinking that somehow gay men were what was wrong with the world.

a) Realizing I was probably the biggest idiot EVER for my hatred and anger of gay men.

b) I seriously prioritized hating gays over the following:

– War
– Famine
– Natural disasters

I know, I know. I really don’t know what to say and am speechless.

c) I was wrong.

– Nobody ever wants to somehow think they are wrong.

– The best thing you can do for yourself is to see HOW you could be wrong and WHY you are wrong.
.
.
G: I know what it’s like to suddenly realize that I wasn’t the great person and completely decent human being that I thought I was.

1) It wasn’t easy to accept that I was wrong.

a) I was delusional.

b) I was a horrible person.

c) I was a bully.

d) I was a bigot.

2) I couldn’t deny the truth about how wrong my behavior was.

3) I couldn’t deny the evidence.

4) There really was only 4 options after learning the truth.

a) Accept the truth, not deny it.

b) Realize that you can’t change how you were, but try to be a better person.

c) Try to speak out and defend gays every chance you get.

d) Never speak badly of gays again and always treat them with the respect they deserve.
.
.
H: I know what it’s like to have a savior.

1) Howard Stern is my savior.

a) Any religious person who thinks that is ridiculous now knows how I view their religion.

b) My “savior” to a religious person is just as ridiculous to them as any religious prophet, or religion they don’t believe in.

2) My savior isn’t a religion though, but the following of a radio show that I learn from, because of REAL people, REAL experiences and REAL life.

3) My savior doesn’t bring me promises of ever lasting life and doesn’t claim to be anything else but a human being doing the best he can to get through life.

4) My savior tries to help the world make sense by giving everyone a heavy dose of REALITY.

5) My savior is a 100% REAL PERSON!

a) I hear him on the radio.

b) He is alive today.

c) I’ve talked to people who actually met Howard.

6) My savior doesn’t threaten me in any way.
.
.
I: I know what it’s like to have a purpose in life.

1) Fighting religion is my purpose.

a) Exposing the harms.

b) Exposing the dishonesty and lies.

c) Waking people up to reality:

– Religion is brainwashing.

– Religion is all lies.

– Religion is harmful.

– People don’t need religion, they need truth.

2) Also, trying to tell people that proving, or disproving God’s existence is a waste of time.

a) There’s no evidence of God, or gods and all that matters is showing people their religion is a lie.

b) People need to be shown that they are brainwashed.

c) Nothing else matters but exposing religion and exposing the brainwashing.

d) People being scared to hurt other peoples feelings by telling them the truth is not helping and they are being nothing but enablers.

– Similar to not telling an alcoholic that they have a drinking problem because you don’t want to hurt they’re feelings.

– Instead they try to tell the person that alcohol doesn’t exist.
.
.
J: I know what it’s like to NOT have a purpose in life and yet be completely fine with that and happy.

1) Until I came on Twitter 4 years ago and started speaking out against religion I never had a PURPOSE.

2) When I was obsessed with hating gay men it wasn’t a purpose, just a hatred.

3) I’ve always tried to help the world and make the world a better place every chance I could, but that wasn’t my PURPOSE, that was just me doing what I felt was right.

4) The many years I had no purpose other than making myself happy and paying my bills were great years.

a) I never felt like my life was pointless and meaningless and without purpose, because it wasn’t pointless and meaningless and without purpose.

b) The only reason religious people think that their lives would be pointless and meaningless, without a purpose, is because they have been mentally conditioned to feel that way.

c) I got over it and escaped and you can too.

5) “Purpose” in life is what you make of it, not how much you can kiss an imaginary beings rear end.
.
.
K: I know what it’s like to realize you wasted your life for nothing.

1) The religion was a lie and I wasted many years on it.

a) The anger, disappointment and sadness only lasted a day.

b) After I awoke from the delusional dream I was in, I felt much happier and free than I ever had felt before.

c) Like being in a prison and realizing the jail was never locked.

2) Like the many years I hated gay men and realized:

– It was all for nothing.

– I was in the wrong and it was hard to accept, but I couldn’t argue with the evidence.
.
.
L: I know what it’s like to find out that there really is no way of being sure what you know, unless you sit down and dissect every single thing that you think you actually know.

1) If you don’t do research and look for the truth then you’ll never know if you really have the truth.

2) If I’m wrong about something, or living a lie about something then I want to know about it.

3) Religion mentally conditions you to never doubt it and to never question, or think for yourself.

a) If you don’t believe me then start thinking and researching and you’ll see what happens.

– There is a reason that 93% of the scientific community don’t believe in gods.

– There is a reason why most college and university students are going to college and university and becoming Atheists, or agnostics.

b) There is a reason Atheists call religion “blind faith” and if you don’t believe me then please go do research and you will see that NOTHING in your religion has any evidence and there is actually evidence that your religion ISN’T true.

c) I await your evidence from unbiased scientific sources and not dishonest web links.

4) I sit down and think very carefully about what I am expected to THINK and what I’m expected to KNOW.

a) If you don’t do this then there is a good chance that you are a slave of a lie.

b) I don’t want to be a slave of a lie.

c) I like to know the truth.

—————————————-

Finally.

If you are religious and reading this, I hope you read this and take something out of it.

– How I changed my thinking over the years.

– How and why you could and SHOULD change your thinking.

– That I never said anything to you that wasn’t the truth.

– If you doubt what I say to you here, that you notice that you still aren’t doubting your religion, which is exactly what I said you wouldn’t do.

– Thanks for proving me right.

